CreateDebate


Debate Info

144
112
There should be action taken. The issue should be ignored.
Debate Score:256
Arguments:142
Total Votes:327
More Stats

Argument Ratio

side graph
 
 There should be action taken. (84)
 
 The issue should be ignored. (58)

Debate Creator

McHughDebate(26) pic



Global Warming, Voice Your Honest Opinion

" There are many who still do not believe that global warming is a problem at all. And it's no wonder: because they are the targets of a massive and well-organized campaign of disinformation lavishly funded by polluters who are who are determined to prevent any action to reduce the greenhouse gas emissions that cause global warming out of a fear that their profits might be affected if they had to stop dumping so much pollution into the atmosphere."    -Al Gore

"Some of the scientists, I believe, haven't  really changed their opinion a little bit on global warming, there's a lot of differing opinions and before we react I think it's best to have the full accounting, full understanding of whats taken place."  - George W. Bush 

 

Now its your turn to make your voice heard, comment your opinion and maybe you can be the person the world is looking for to terminate the issue of Global Warming.

Questions to Answer: 

Is Global Warming Real?  

Is there action being done today to help slow down Global Warming?

Is our President doing Anything?

Who will be most affected? 

What will the Human Race become?

Is this the reason for the 2012 theory?   

Will killing a large amount of people help? (Legal Abortions, Death pentalty enforced,) 

Is Global Warming a story made up by our government to make money?


There should be action taken.

Side Score: 144
VS.

The issue should be ignored.

Side Score: 112
5 points

The scientific consensus is overwhelming. Just insisting on ignoring it is criminally reckless.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

Well the people who chose to ignore it are in their own little worlds, What can the people who support the issue and want to take action do?

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

"Well the people who chose to ignore it are in their own little worlds, What can the people who support the issue and want to take action do?"

Genetic engineering will be of vital importance in helping us to create sustainable fuels that can be produced efficiently. Bacteria that create ethanol from cellulose, in high yield, would be of help.

Engineering higher yielding crops, that don't need pesticides because they produce a specifically engineered insecticide within would help our environment.

I've seen suggestions for using rooftops in cities as either solar panels or gardens, however solar panels to date are not very efficient to manufacture.

Plants that can be engineered to absorb carbon dioxide more efficiently, into sucrose collection reservoirs could act as scrubbers for cities that have smog. The sucrose could be harvested and used as a cattle grain supplement or purified for human consumption.

Bacteria or plants that can take in methane and produce some sort of product should be developed post-haste in case certain oceanic methane deposits get released in the next decades, as well as for cattle farms.

There are all sorts of things we can do to lessen the greenhouse gasses in our atmosphere, and live a more efficient lifestyle.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
0 points

"There is no sound reason to impose expensive and restrictive public policy decisions on the peoples of the Earth without first providing convincing evidence that human activities are causing dangerous climate change beyond that resulting from natural causes."

Letter to Secretary-General of United Nations signed by 141 scientists [1]

Supporting Evidence: Hoax [1] (www.globalwarminghoax.com)
4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
gcomeau(535) Disputed
3 points

Wow, 141 whole scientists. Worldwide. Gosh, that completely balances out the official findings of the IPCC and the entire National Academies of Science of...

Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, the Caribbean, China, France, Ghana, Germany, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, India, Japan, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, New Zealand, Russia, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, Sweden, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganada, The UK, The US, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

etc...

Supporting Evidence: Scientific consensus. (en.wikipedia.org)
4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
jessald(1906) Disputed
1 point

The libertarian mindset:

Government is bad.

If government could fix global warming, government would be good.

This yields a contradiction, therefore global warming doesn't exist.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
TERMINATOR(6718) Disputed
0 points

Argumentum ad populum.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
gcomeau(535) Disputed
1 point

First understand the logical fallacies, then accuse people of using them.

No, pointing out the existence of the consensus recognized EXPERT OPINION is not "argumentum ad populum".

If you pointed out that over half your bowling league thought you were right about a claim you made about quantum physics therefore you must be right, THAT would be argumentum ad populum.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJAbATJCugs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GgSltrQIS8s&NR;=1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDI2NVTYRXU

Since Debate doesn't let me post vids about my topic here are some to help your understanding of Global Warming.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

Right now the public "debate" about global warming has been focused upon whether we are to blame for its happening. This is largely a method to confuse the situation, and post-pone any form of action being taken. If we're looking at who to blame, after all, we won't be focused on what needs to be done.

There is a scientific consensus that our climate is changing in predictable ways. Instead of focusing the discussion upon whether man is responsible, which as I stated is common these days, we need to be creating policies that will enable us to lessen this change or survive its outcome.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

If we are not the cause, and it is a natural phenomenon, then it is logical to conclude that we can do nothing to 'lessen this change'. That is the purpose of the debate, to find out if it is worth creating policies.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
aveskde(1901) Disputed
0 points

There are plenty of things in life that are natural, which we haven't caused but can lessen the severity of.

Examples:

A hurricane is about to strike Florida. We can evacuate to lessen the damage caused by the hurricane. We can also build more resilient structures.

An asteroid is about to hit the earth. We could develop a survival plan, build shelters, salvage animal and plant species until the sky isn't dark any longer.

Floods are common in parts of the world, we can lessen their encroachment by building manifolds that direct the waters away from us.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

I understand that this global warming is a cause of what we have done to this planet from years ago...what we do now will effect what will happen 10 yrs from now...we can't undo what we already did from the past but why is it that we are so slow to move?...many communities/cities force recycling...why not all?..we still allow companies to do as they want...I don't know...teaching our children is one thing...but how can we educate the older crowd...the one's that haven't the slightest care in the world?...they just think, "well, I'll be dead by the time the world will show it's damage"....

The rain forests...what are we going to do with all that?...all our medicines come from there...are they replanting as they destroy?

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

Is Global Warming Real?

yes, I believe so, although I believe a better term is "Climate Change". The fact that the way the weather is behaving is a sign that things are changing.

Is there action being done today to help slow down Global Warming?

I think that the "Green" movement is going in the right direction, but I don't believe that enough people participate in it to make it truly effective yet.

Is our President doing Anything?

I believe he is, but at the moment he has other issues on his plate that get more of his attention.

Who will be most affected?

Perhaps 3rd world countries, who won't have the financial means to help them deal with climate changes.

What will the Human Race become?

I'm not sure of that.

Is this the reason for the 2012 theory?

No...that is due to people who think the Mayan calendar is showing the end of the world.

Will killing a large amount of people help? (Legal Abortions, Death pentalty enforced,)

No, that won't help. Death penalties are for people in prison, who are not wasting as much energy as those who are free, and abortions are on humans who aren't here yet, so they are not wasting energy or poluting the planet.

Is Global Warming a story made up by our government to make money?

No, I believe it to be real.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

Al Gore debates expert climatologists (at last) on whether carbon dioxide causes global warming.

Al Gore Debate on Global Warming

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

GLOBAL WARMING is definitely real. Regardless of its title and media-driven hysteria, it is ruining mass parts of earth that very slowly are ruining health and environment.

To DENY this would be idiotic. Im not saying to go outside and do your most. but even as little as buying recycled toilet paper can save trees. That due to deforestation, the trees aren't alive enough together to produce carbon. This causes landslides, mudslips, floods, ETC. ETC. ETC.

did i say floods? with the right weather conditions we could have another... anyone heard of Katrina, or how about Haiti!?

Those who dont believe or in denial read for yourselves. There are massive amounts of scientific reasoning that back up what i just said which is RUINING our earth and HUMANS/OTHER SPECIES. this is called proof and evidence that Global Warming is as real as you outside feeling a thunderstorm.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
monkeyboy142(75) Disputed
2 points

GLOBAL WARMING IS A MYTH. Al Gore just made it up to get a noble prize.

3 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.

Global warming or not i think we should start taking action, it doesnt have to be anything big, just start using your car less, walking more, and small things like turning off the lights when you go out, because if everybody did this it would help dramaticly, you can help the earth and keep your comforts but cut on the things you dont need

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

Naturally, this is a very serious - and worldwide - issue. Naturally, action should be taken against it.

Now, humanity seems to have been ignoring this issue for quite sometime, despite all efforts made to draw the matter to the publics attention. Several countries have launched various campaigns in order to tackle the publics "lack of interest" in the issue, though they seem to have little effect as of late. This is the beginning of a very serious problem; if the public cannot accept the obvious, then humanity is a lost cause in future.

The obvious that I refer to are greenhouse gasses; the primary suppliers to the travesty of global warming. Our carbon emissions from day-to-day life are bad enough, not to mention the high usage of petrol-fueled transportation, which is adding to the air pollution. Our ozone layer is falling apart, and what fight is humanity putting up?

Now, getting to the action; we should obviously all start pulling our fingers out and start reducing our daily carbon emissions, such as supplementing our home technology for a more natural, pollution-free method of doing things (such as hanging clothes out to dry rather than using a machine). The next obvious is a cut-back on using automotive transportation. Public transport is a suitable option, and is something that the VIC (Australia) government should be dealing with in a more serious matter (in my opinion). WE should all be taking public transport when we can, but I understand that the use of a car is vital in many (if not more) instances. In this case, our government's should be investing further into the production and distribution of Electrically-Powered vehicles, and even supplementing them for our current vehicles, which in the case of gas-use is harming our ozone layer. This would be a hard adjustment, but a necessary one.

We are facing many potential problems should we not heed the warnings given to us about the global warming issue. It will begin with simpler problems, such as an increase in potential melanoma and other various skin-related diseases. It will progress to a further depletion of glaciers in regions such as Antarctica, which will create an immediate rise in sea levels. Eventually, we will be roasting our planet to the point where it will be uninhabitable.

Humanity needs to wake up and smell the burning sun, because the rays are only going to increase if we keep up the ignorance of this rising situation, as we have done for too long already.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

I don't even think global warming exists. But if it does, I'd say action should be taken against it.

3 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

I would say that global warming should be controlled to manageable limits.............if not this warmth will melt the existence of humans on earth.....as we are able to see a few consequences of it.............

3 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

"Is Global Warming Real?"

Well its like evolution, we've observed it, we know it happens but people still try to claim its not a reality.

"Is there action being done today to help slow down Global Warming?"

Ya the problem is what little action is being taken equate's to a band aid being put on a severed leg.

"Is our President doing Anything?"

Good God know, anyone who thinks otherwise is really quite naive. In order to do any substantive he would actually have to take measures that would hurt big business, is anyone really stupid enough to think thats going to happen.

"Who will be most affected?"

Ironically the poorest people on the planet will be worst affected, you know those people us europeans colonised, robbed, raped, stole from, and commited genocide after genocide against. Or i should say those people who we continue to rob, rape, steal from, and continue to commit genocide against.

"What will the Human Race become?"

Hard to estimate, whatever it becomes it is highly unlikely it will be any better than it is now, although it may be much worse.

"Is this the reason for the 2012 theory? "

No!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"Will killing a large amount of people help? (Legal Abortions, Death pentalty enforced,)"

Well if you're referring to population control yes but only a massive scale the kind of which would be near impossible to implement due to a multitude of factors i.e. proper recognition of the problem,and desire to rectify its root cause, international agreement and co-operation (as if!!!), logistics, manpower, economics, etc, etc., etc, ............

"Is Global Warming a story made up by our government to make money?"

I hope so but am as certain as i can be thats its not.

3 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

Is Global Warming Real?

- Yes, it is an objective verified fact. I learned the science in college and became well versed in all the ideas about it - to say that global warming is a myth is to live in a delusional world.

Is there action being done today to help slow down Global Warming?

- There are some actions happening, but not on the level necessary to effect significant change. although there are some efforts, C02 emissions are still rising and are expected to rise every year for the forseeable future.

Is our President doing Anything?

Our president is in favor of energy policies that promote green tech and sustainable energy generation programs, however I do not believe these are significant.

Who will be most affected?

-The poor and the people living in low elevation with respect to ocean level. The sea will rise over the next century, causing significant alterations to the world as we know it and causing more people to live in less area with less resources and less food - wars are going to happen more and more frequently over the scarce resources.

What will the Human Race become?

- We will become what we are determining ourselves to be - but this isnt saying much. we could do fine as long as we dong kill ourselves over the geopolitical dynamics. Religious delusion, nationalism, ignorance and apathy are the biggest issues threatening our future.

Is this the reason for the 2012 theory?

- No, the 2012 theory is a synthesis of many dooms-day ideas and the tendency for people to assume that the end is near when in fact everything is pretty normal. 2012 is strongly associated with the Mayan Calender but anyone who knows anything about their culture can tell you that there was no association between the end of their calender and a supposed end of the world scenario.

Will killing a large amount of people help? (Legal Abortions, Death pentalty enforced,)

- Abortions help (~1.6 Million in the US alone = significant number), but death penalty is insignificant because only a few thousand people die from this. A global epidemic would be good to reduce our anthropogenic greenhouse emissions - but i dont know if this would cause progress in the human state of existence.

Is Global Warming a story made up by our government to make money?

- Global warming is real, there is no government involvement - this is apparent since the previous administration (G W Bush) denied the validity of global warming up until the very end.

2 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
0 points

Here is a video I found about Al Gore's point of view for Global Warming.

An Inconvenient Truth Full Movie Part 1/1

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
TERMINATOR(6718) Disputed
2 points

Al Gore is a hypocritical idiot.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
0 points

http://gdata.youtube.com/feeds/base/videos/Jxi-OlkmxZ4/related?client=ytapi-youtube-watch&v;=2

Here is a Link for some videos you can watch for Global Warming, Let me say they are quite informative, to those who do not know the issue very well.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
0 points

Regardless of whether or not humans are the sole or major contributing factor to global warming, action should still be taken to protect the heath and over all well-being of the human race. Last time I checked, carbon emissions weren't beneficial to a healthy lifestyle. In addition, more efficient and green technology just seems to be the next step in technology, and it looks cool too :)

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
0 points

This is basically the point I was trying to make earlier. The "debate" has made denialists actually argue against less pollution, and cleaner energy. It makes the mind hurt when you think that we should all be on the same side of this, working towards cleaner (or clean) energy, energy independence, less pollution, and fewer endangered species but instead we see people actively fighting against this.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
0 points

To the issue to the slow economy, If the human race is the reason for global warming, then what can we do as people to prevent the growing of Global Warmth. job wise (List)? To make this issue a win-win. How can we invest in clean energy if we barely have money? Who should be the leader in this action? China? United States?

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
0 points

There should be action taken against the 2012 theory. Anyone who believes it should be shot at midnight, Dec 31, 2011, you know, just to make them happy that the prediction, for them at least, is right.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
0 points

i think the Warming Real, and it also cause lots of problems...

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

How can it cause problems? If you need help with research check out some of my videos I have posted

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
0 points

Yeah there should be action taken. I mean if you think about it, a lot of animals are suffering because of it. Such as the polar bears.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
TERMINATOR(6718) Disputed
3 points

The polar bears are not suffering from it. Google 'Dr. Mitchell Taylor'!

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
2 points

If it is true, and I don't believe it is, then polar bears should be the least of our concerns.

Personally, if I was face to face with a polar bear, I'd rather it were dead.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
garry77777(1794) Disputed
1 point

"If it is true, and I don't believe it is"

No offense but by what basis do you assert that it is not true.

"Personally, if I was face to face with a polar bear, I'd rather it were dead."

The world's ecosystem and atmosphere is a dynamic equilibrium of interactions between lifeforms,forces and chemicals both organic and inorganic. These incomprehensibly complex interactions that take place on many levels (i.e. macroscopic, microscopic,......nanoscopic etc.) exist in a extremely delicate balance. It makes sense that when one very important variable is changed significantly it can perturb the state of the system that depends on it. Now im not going to say that everything pertaining to global warming is true but ive seen more than enough evidence to convince me that it is by far the most reasonably and logical explanation. I will amdit it may be deeeply flawed like most scientific theories are when they originate, but to beleive it isn't true and essentially side with the other side seems to me to be a clear violation of Occam's razor.

3 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

The issue should be ignored.

Global warming is either caused by the sun (or some other natural cause) or by humans.

If it is cause by the sun (or some other natural cause) there is nothing we can do about it except wait it out.

If it is caused by humans, we either reduce the human population significantly (since humans are the cause) or we establish crippling economic solutions. No one wants to do either one of those things.

If we do nothing, eventually the natural cycle will reverse itself, or enough humans will die out to reverse human meddling, or both.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
jessald(1906) Disputed
5 points

If you bothered to read any legitimate source about the causes of global warming, you would know that both humans and natural forces are contributing, but humans are responsible for the greater portion.

http://www.ipcc.ch/publications_and_data/ar4/syr/en/spms2.html

We can stop global warming by investing in clean energy. And economic solutions will be less painful if we act sooner rather than later.

Lastly, death is bad you silly goose.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
McHughDebate(26) Disputed
4 points

Please no swearing in this Debate, this is for a school project :D

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.

Well, if death is bad, then why not make abortion illegal?

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
aveskde(1901) Disputed
3 points

To joecalvary:

So basically you'd rather that many people die than have a slow economy. Who says capitalism isn't a virus?

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

If people are out of work and can't afford food or housing, they are either going to die anyway or have a crappier quality of life than if we just let things be.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
1 point

Capitalism is not a virus, it is a Godsend.--------------------

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
McHughDebate(26) Disputed
2 points

Well Global Warming has been going on for thousands of years. Humans are the reason why its sped up so quickly. Killing people wont do anything, That would be just an easy way for genocide of a race or country ect. Like on a previous comment I have posted, why not spend the money to create Green Jobs. Its a win-win situation, more jobs for the American people (or whoever is capable of the technology needed) and a cleaner, healthier Earth. If the Earth reverses itself, and we go into another Ice Age, that can reverse the Human development to at least a few hundred years, our farms would die, and the world would loose allot of money. What you said is only a prediction, but based on my experiences, Reality is far more worse. The best thing we humans can do, is to create Green Jobs, and cut down on the things that damage the earth, once we get that done, only Mother Nature can decide our fate.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

Spend money to create jobs? This means that there's no money in green technologies. If there was money to be made from green technologies, then we wouldn't have to spend money to create those jobs. Do you think we spent money to create jobs based on fossil fuels? No. There was a need and fossil fuels met those needs and market forces created those jobs.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
BackBast(2) Disputed
2 points

"Create jobs" is a fallacy. When you spend more money providing the same service, that will in fact shrink your GDP. You can produce less goods from your available labor pool since you used more of it to produce a single good.

From every possible metric it is a step backwards. It's not a win win. Not at all.

3 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
Skaruts(157) Disputed
1 point

If we do nothing, eventually the natural cycle will reverse itself, or enough humans will die out to reverse human meddling, or both.

That statement might be correct, considering it really happens. However, the consequences of this global warming are exactly about us being ruining the balancing elements in the planet. If these balancing elements vanish, then that's only possible to happen again in a very long time, way after we have all fried and been forgoten. And that is IF it ever happens again, considering we are moving towards a tipping point, if we haven't reached it yet.

You argument is a bit like saying "Oh there's a high speed train coming! Well, I'll just sit here on the tracks and wait to see if it can brake in time to not trample me."

2 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

Actually, it's more like, "Hmmm..., there's a high wall on my left and an even higher wall on my right and there's a high speed bullet train coming. Maybe if I just lay down here, it will pass right over me without causing me much harm..., because there's not much else I can do about it." ;)

2 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
2 points

yes its really effecting world,wild life,humans, forests and many more

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.

Well, let's see, we recently found out that scientific data pertaining to the Earth's supposed warming was faked. Obviously there's more to the whole theory than is first apparent. Let's look at who has gained from this theory. The Government, with their carbon taxes. The owner of the carbon credits scheme (note scheme) Al Gore (note Al Gore). Scientists who receive funding for researching this theory. That is all that comes to mind off hand, but note that all of the people who gain from legislation pertaining to Global Warming are the chief advocates of the Global Warming Theory. This in itself would suggest that the whole thing is rather dodgy, but we must now consider the science of the theory.

1. The hole in the ozone layer.

A hole in gas? That is physically impossible, and any one of the so called 'scientists' who form this 'overwhelming' consensus should know that.

2. The melting Ice caps.

Meteorologist Jeffrey Masters says: '...most of Antarctica has seen a cooling trend. The Antarctic ice sheet is actually expected to increase in mass over the next 100 years due to increased precipitation, according to the IPCC." There you go.

3. Reducing 'carbon footprint'.

Well, this is completely unnecessary, as the easier and cheaper solution would be to simply plant more trees. Mor carbon dioxide means more plants, more plants means less carbon dioxide. Self-solving problem it would seem.

So, before you believe comments on evidence that you yourself have neither actually seen, and by extension, never verified, take the time to think about the theory and make an imformed decision. I, for example have never actually heard of this scientific consensus, except from people with no real argument, who just want to appear intelligent. As I have said countless times, stating that one side of an argument is wrong or right does not make it wrong or right. It just makes you look like a fanatical fool. Anyone remember that whole year 2000 apocalypse thing? Doomsday preachers have always been wrong. When one theory is irrefutably proven to be wrong, they just make another.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
aveskde(1901) Disputed
4 points

At EnigmaticMan:

Looks like you're a major victim of "Did not do the research." You watched your local news who coddled your denial instead of actually READING the emails.

Your further rely on pride "I'll discount what the expert scientists say and reason myself that we can just plant trees" and don't look at the weather data yourself, but rely upon people to interpret that for you.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
Mahollinder(897) Disputed
3 points

Well, let's see, we recently found out that scientific data pertaining to the Earth's supposed warming was faked.

No "we" didn't. What data was faked?

Let's look at who has gained from this theory

Who gains from a theory is irrelevant to its veracity. You might as well be arguing that aeronautical engineers, pilots, the transportation and tourist industries, and cities with airports benefit from the theory of gravity, and therefore it should be considered dodgy and suspect. I'm sure you wouldn't argue that Electrical theory is wrong because we have an entire army of lobbyists fighting on behalf of the energy industry, would you? Of course not. Who cares who benefits from this? You make it seem like these researchers are stuffing their pockets with money. Researchers are among the lowest paid workers in the developed world.

A hole in gas? That is physically impossible, and any one of the so called 'scientists' who form this 'overwhelming' consensus should know that.

Tthere are places on the planet where the concentration of the volume and mass of the protective layer is lower, thereby permitting higher concentrations of solar radiation to bombard the planet's surface. That's all "hole" means. It's not to be taken too literally. Although the lack of O3 in areas would constitute a hole in the layer. Either way that is a bad thing.

That said, whether our current explanatory model is correct or not, we would still have to account for why the ozone layer is weaker in locations around the planet (like Australia, where weakening ozone and higher solar radiative forces are causing increasing incidents of skin cancer). Facts and observations don't go away just because a theory is wrong. We are still seeing increasing mean surface temperatures.

So, before you believe comments on evidence that you yourself have neither actually seen, and by extension, never verified, take the time to think about the theory and make an informed decision.

Are you holding yourself to the same standard?

I, for example have never actually heard of this scientific consensus, except from people with no real argument, who just want to appear intelligent.

Ignorance isn't a refutation of the fact.

Anyone remember that whole year 2000 apocalypse thing?

Yeah, I remember this. And I remember that there was almost literally no one in the appropriate fields who were being alarmist. It was the News-media and frightened laymen. In this case, we have people in relevant fields of study across multiple scientific disciplines informing us that we are trending towards some bad times if things continue the way they are. And the scientists certainly aren't being alarmist. A simple read of most, if not all academic articles would alert you to this very fact. They are, however, being very serious and stern with respect to the risk we are taking by doing nothing.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
2 points

A well structured argument, however:

No "we" didn't. What data was faked?

Recently, emails leaked from the Climatic Research Unit at the University of East Anglia in the UK - which claims to be the repository for the most comprehensive set of climate data on the planet - contain what many observers see as clear evidence that scientists have been altering that data to fit in with their man-made global warming beliefs.

Who gains from a theory is irrelevant to its veracity.

I was pointing out that the main advocates of the Global Warming theory are those who stand the most to gain from funding, taxes etc.

All the industries you mentioned make money from voluntary customers, however G.W legislation means that people receive no tangible gain from money they are forced to pay.

there are places on the planet where the concentration of the volume....

Though I was indeed too literal in my interpretation, that in itself highlights how pro G.W scientists use wordplay to scare the populace. And, as you pointed out, we still cannot verify the theory that this is related to Man-Made pollutants.

Are you holding yourself to the same standard?

The fact that I am arguing against the common opinion would suggest that I my theories are my own.

Ignorance isn't a refutation of the fact.

Then please enlighten me as to how controversy can exist along with consensus.

almost literally no one in the appropriate fields who were being alarmist.

My point was that people aren't happy without a doomsday theory of some kind, regardless of who advocates it.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
3 points

I agree with you apart from there being no wholes in the ozone layer, there are. The government, and these new "environmentalist" industries that teach how to lower carbon emmissions etc are definately making money from this scheme. I love your simplistic solution to reducing carbon emmissions, Are rainforests are being cut down massively and this needs to stop.

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
1 point

GW is a government conspiracy to gain more control OVER the people, and of course MONEY!!

GW is all about Money and Power, nothing else.

At my local high school I heard of a presentation that went on there for some of the students.

There was a "50 years from now scenario" in the Presentation, a couple of things were:

1. "Last coal operated Factory shut down in Chile"~~ Government ending PRIVATELY owned bussiness.

2. "Last gas operated car put in a museum in the US"~~ The government telling what types of cars WILL be made by car manufacturers.

So tell me, does this not symbolize MORE government control?

If not tell me why? And what the hell your on?

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
McHughDebate(26) Disputed
3 points

Maybe if you bothered to read other comments, you can actually comment something useful, instead of ranting and making yourself look like an idiot. Maybe leaving the source, if you used one, instead of using your anger toward the government.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
3 points

Also, whether you think global warming is real or not, we are running out of fossil fuels and having an economy based off of a limited substance is just plain stupid.

4 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
1 point

There is no scientific evidence for global warming. The scientists at East Anglia "threw it away." Also, throughout history, when there has been a small climate change, it has been resolved through nature. I think we should continue living our normal lives instead of buying more expensive "green" cars, paying increased taxes, and ruining the economy!

4 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
Skaruts(157) Disputed
1 point

You have NO IDEA of what the hell you're talking about...

2 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.
Troy8(2250) Disputed
1 point

Are you contesting that you have an accurate bearing on what I know?

2 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.

If we burn all fossil fuels then every where will be a tropical Paradise like Hawaii.

3 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
Skaruts(157) Disputed
1 point

It would be great if that would be true... however is most likely that everywhere will be a very hot desert...

2 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.

global warming is a mith. Did you know that a long time ago Antarctica was a rain forest, the globe is cooling if anything. Its been getting colder. SO if it is real then it would be good.

3 years ago | Side: The issue should be ignored.
Skaruts(157) Disputed
1 point

Yes, and the scientists have no clue of what they're doing, and the experiment results are taken from kids toys, and my dog can fly.

2 years ago | Side: There should be action taken.


About CreateDebate
The CreateDebate Blog
Take a Tour
Help/FAQ
Newsletter Archive
Sharing Tools
Invite Your Friends
Bookmarklets
Partner Buttons
RSS & XML Feeds
Reach Out
Advertise
Contact Us
Report Abuse
Twitter
Basic Stuff
User Agreement
Privacy Policy
Sitemap
Creative Commons
©2014 TidyLife, Inc. All Rights Reserved. User content, unless source quoted, licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Debate Forum | Big shout-outs to The Bloggess and Andy Cohen.